Organization

The Graduate School for Health Sciences of the University of Bern is an interfacultary constitution and is jointly administered by the Faculty of Medicine, the Faculty of Human Sciences and the Vetsuisse Faculty.

Steering Board

The interfacultary Steering Board is responsible for the strategic direction, the quality control, and the administration of the PhD program. It consists of members of the Faculty of Medicine and the Faculty of Human Sciences.

Expert Committees (FK)

Three Expert Committees (FK) with competences in individual factors, public health and methodologies for health sciences research (Expert Committee I / FK I), neuroscience (Expert Committee II / FK II) or clinical sciences: clinical career & patient-oriented research (50:50 model) (Expert Committee III / FK III), are responsible for the admittance, guidance, and evaluation of the PhD candidates.
Each candidate is assigned to one of the Expert Committees (FK), which together with the candidate decides upon the individual training program.

 

 

Organization Chart (pdf)

Prof. Dr. Sissel Guttormsen (Faculty of Medicine), President
sissel.guttormsen@unibe.ch

Prof. Dr. Achim Elfering (Faculty of Human Sciences)
achim.elfering@unibe.ch

Prof. Dr. Tobias Nef (Faculty of Medicine)
tobias.nef@unibe.ch

Prof. Dr. Claudio R. Nigg (Faculty of Human Sciences)
claudio.nigg@unibe.ch

Prof. Dr. Lorenz Räber (Faculty of Medicine)
lorenz.raeber@insel.ch

Prof. Dr. med. vet. Adrian Steiner (Vetsuisse Faculty)
adrian.steiner@unibe.ch

PD Dr. Bernhard Völkl (Vetsuisse Faculty)
bernhard.voelkl@unibe.ch 

Prof. Dr. Marcel Zwahlen (Faculty of Medicine) 
marcel.zwahlen@unibe.ch

Dr. Tullia Padovani Schipper (Coordinator)
tullia.padovani@unibe.ch

Prof. Dr. Marcel Zwahlen (Faculty of Medicine), Chair
marcel.zwahlen@unibe.ch

Prof. Dr. phil. Stéphanie Baggio (Faculty of Medicine)
stephanie.baggio@unibe.ch

Prof. Dr. med. Annalisa Berzigotti (Faculty of Medicine)
annalisa.berzigotti@insel.ch

Prof. Dr. Vivianne Chappuis (Faculty of Medicine)
vivianne.chappuis@unibe.ch

Prof. Dr. Annika Frahsa (Faculty of Medicine)
annika.frahsa@unibe.ch

Prof. Dr. Sissel Guttormsen (Faculty of Medicine)
sissel.guttormsen@unibe.ch

Prof. Dr. Jennifer Inauen (Faculty of Human Sciences)
jennifer.inauen@unibe.ch

Prof. Dr. Carla Meyer-Massetti (Faculty of Medicine)
carla.meyer-massetti@unibe.ch

Prof. Dr. med. vet. Mireille Meylan (Vetsuisse Faculty)
mireille.meylan@unibe.ch 

Prof. Dr. Stefanie Julia Schmidt (Faculty of Human Sciences)
stefanie.schmidt@unibe.ch

Prof. Dr. Matthias Wilhelm (Faculty of Medicine)
matthias.wilhelm@insel.ch

 

Prof. Dr. Tobias Nef (Faculty of Medicine), Chair
tobias.nef@unibe.ch

PD Dr. Dario Cazzoli (Faculty of Human Sciences)
dario.cazzoli@unibe.ch

Prof. Dr. Stéphane Ciocchi (Faculty of Medicine)
stephane.ciocchi@unibe.ch

Prof. Dr. Daniel Erlacher (Faculty of Human Sciences)
daniel.erlacher@unibe.ch

Dr. Lorena Gianotti (Faculty of Human Sciences)
lorena.gianotti@unibe.ch

PD Dr. phil. Anja Gysin-Maillart (Faculty of Medicine)
anja.gysin@unibe.ch

PD Dr. med. Sebastian Grunt (Faculty of Medicine)
sebastian.Grunt@insel.ch

Prof. Dr. Daniela Hubl (Faculty of Medicine)
daniela.hubl@unibe.ch

Dr. Markus Schmidt (Faculty of Medicine)
markus.Schmidt@insel.ch

Dr. Maria Stein (Faculty of Human Sciences & Faculty of Medicine)
maria.stein@unibe.ch

Prof. Dr. Roland Wiest (Faculty of Medicine)
Roland.Wiest@insel.ch

Prof. Dr. Lorenz Räber (Faculty of Medicine), Chair
lorenz.raeber@insel.ch

Prof. Dr. Guido Beldi (Faculty of Medicine)
Guido.Beldi@insel.ch

Prof. Dr. Thomas Berger (Faculty of Human Sciences)
thomas.berger@unibe.ch

Prof. Dr. med. vet. Vinzenz Gerber (Vetsuisse Faculty)
vinzenz.gerber@unibe.ch

Prof. Dr. med. Simon Jung (Faculty of Medicine)
simon.jung@insel.ch

Prof. Dr. Iris-Katharina Penner (Faculty of Medicine)
iris-katharina.penner@insel.ch

Prof. Dr. med. David Seiffge (Faculty of Medicine)
david.seiffge@insel.ch

Prof. Dr. Philipp Latzin (Faculty of Medicine)
philipp.latzin@insel.ch

Prof. Dr. med Evangelia Liakoni (Faculty of Medicine)
evangelia.liakoni@insel.ch

Prof. Dr. Alice Elke Martine Panchaud Monnat (Faculty of Medicine)
alice.panchaudmonnat@unibe.ch

PD Dr. Jessica Peter (Faculty of Medicine)
jessica.peter@unibe.ch

Prof. Dr. Eva Segelov (Faculty of Medicine)
eva.segelov@unibe.ch

Prof. Dr. med. vet. Torsten Seuberlich (Vetsuisse Faculty)
torsten.seuberlich@unibe.ch

PD Dr. Georgios Siontis (Faculty of Medicine)
Georgios.Siontis@insel.ch

Prof. Dr. Matthias Zumstein (Faculty of Medicine)
ses@sonnenhof.ch